Maid to be

Filipinos living in the Philippines are said to be blessed because we can easily get help when we need them. I personally grew up with maids at home, even as much as 3 at a time, when it was just me and my Mother. Now are not rich, but we surely did live like we were rich, with maids at home. The maids were my playmates and my companions when Mama had to travel for seminars. When I was old enough to move to my own room, I had a Yaya sleep in the room with me. I even had a Yaya until I was in grade 6.

Since I got married, we had to get a maid. My husband and I work, so we need someone to look after the little one when we’re working. The first maid we had was my youngest sister’s Yaya, so I was used to her. She knew what I liked and got along well with the Hubby. Her husband was not pleased though coz we’re here in Laguna and her family is back home, in the province of Misamis Oriental, in Mindanao. After a year, she had to go home.

We got replacements quite easily, a mother and daughter tandem. I thought that it was necessary to have two, as the little one was growing up and work was piling up. It could get lonely too, so if there are 2 of them, it won’t be so bad. Unfortunately, we had a rough time adjusting to each other; the mother wasn’t much of a cook but was meticulous with cleaning and laundry. The daughter didn’t know much, but was patient with the boy. And there are other little things of course that just didn’t seem right with them. There was this one time that Hubby left his cell phone at home, when he arrived, there was a call made he didn’t make. When we asked them, it took the daughter awhile to admit it was her who made the call. There was also this time when money was left on top of the ref, which I simply left so they could bread for merienda. They said they didn’t know about it, but when the Hubby asked them again, they said they saw it on top of the ref. What irks me more is that they are not happy people, they are mostly sad. Perpetual sadness, that’s what I think. And I like seeing happy faces, smiling faces, light personality.

The list goes on. But they’re great with my boy, they love him so much. Before long, Hubs and I realized that we are at their mercy. If they decide to go pack-up and leave, we’d be doomed. As much as we hate to admit it, we need them. Mama used to say that great maids are hard to come by, now I believe her. My cousin had the most wonderful Yaya, but she had to leave when my niece was 4. The Yaya’s mother asked her to go work abroad to earn more, and she did, she’s now working in Singapore looking after a family with 3 kids.

And then last Xmas, our maids left for a 2-week vacation. We were told crazy to let them go in the Holidays when there is so much to do. But they were adamant to go home, so they left and promised to come back. The first few days of course were very hectic. I had to work from home during our peak season. Luckily, that worked fine. I would be with the little one the whole day, I got to work in between playing with him, cooking lunch (breakfast would be pancakes from Jollibee ), getting him to nap. When the Hubby is home, he would bring dinner or cook dinner. He’d take over watching our boy, while Mommy will work full time until about 12 am. So we got through the 2 weeks, with minimal mishap. We were fed, the little one’s clothes were washed, the kitchen sink was clean, and the bathroom was relatively clean. The house had scattered toys and little stuff everywhere though, but it was a livable house. It was a joy being together as a family, living together just us and proving that we could live without maids. Other cultures and communities have done so and are still doing so.

I wish we could afford not to have maids, I really do. Maybe we could just get one of those cleaning ladies or stay-out maids. They leave when we’re home. Maybe when the little one is older, perhaps we’ll try that. For now, the maids will need to stay.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kaith said,

    i couldn’t agree more, we are at our helpers’ mercy indeed. they know that we need them so they try to be mapresyo. i wish we can afford for me to only work part time so we’d only have one helper. they’re so expensive these days. but cge lang, ana man gyd na. hehehe. can’t wait to see u. we share the same sentiments in life gyd. hehe.

  2. 2

    girlashness said,

    Correct gyud! Sige lang, one day we can afford to work part time and stay-at-home, di ba?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

